In what came to be one of the most drawn-out transfer sagas in recent memory, Arsenal midfielder has finally completed his move to return to boyhood outfit Barcelona. The Spanish inter nation put pen to paper on a €29 million deal, with the possibility of another €10 million pending he meet certain clauses in his contract.

“I waited many days, months and years for this moment,” Fabregas told the fans. “It is a very special day. I return home after eight years. I know I disappointed many of you when I left, but I’m back for the challenge of my life. I hope to leave good memories.”

Fabregas’ desire to return to the Nou Camp has been no secret, and for the past year it has merely been a matter of if as opposed to when. Arsenal purchased the midfielder from Barça when he was 16 years old, and he had nothing but good things to say about his time spent under Arsene Wenger in London.

“I’ll never have enough words to thank him for all he’s done for me,” he said. “I’ll never forget him. I don’t think he has such a good image here – he has been portrayed as something he’s not, in my opinion.

“If today I am here with you then it’s greatly due to him. I can’t express my admiration for him strongly enough. I owe it to him that I am here.”

He added: “On Friday, I said goodbye to everyone at Arsenal. I was very emotional talking with Wenger. I had to send him a text message later because I couldn’t express myself. Wenger will always be the best person I met in football. The Arsenal fans know I always gave everything, but it was time to leave.”

Prior to Fabergas’ arrival, the #4 shirt was worn by up-and-coming star Tiago, but he selflessly sacrificed in order to cater to Cesc’s arrival. On the topic, he had this to say:

 “To get the No. 4 shirt is very special. I know there has been a debate about whether Thiago [Alcantara] should have it but I’m very pleased to be able to wear the No. 4.”

Now all that is left to do is wait and see how he fairs in his debut. The second leg of Spain’s Supercopa Final against arch nemesis Real Madrid is on Wednesday, anticipate seeing him in the Blaugrana outfit for that match.

(via ESPN Soccernet)